The six-grade Latin school

The six-grade Latin school was founded in 1645 on the initiative of the local vicar Jurij Kozina. The school experienced a special boom during the time of the directorship of the local priest Luka Jamnik. Thanks to him, on the “Ruše Sunday”, the holiday of the Ruše Parish, theatre plays took place in front of the church in the beginning of September, which signified the beginning of the rich cultural development of Ruše.

The school was invaluable for the town. During the time of its full operation, for 113 years (until 1758) Ruše was a cultural and educational centre far and wide.